Founded in 1974, SF Camerawork’s mission is to encourage and support emerging artists to explore new directions and ideas in the photographic arts. Through exhibitions, publications, and educational programs, we strive to create an engaging platform for artistic exploration as well as community involvement and inquiry. SF Camerawork is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization.


SF Camerawork was founded by a group of Bay Area artists as a cooperative venture to promote photography as a fine art form.  The founding artists envisioned SF Camerawork as a space where photographers could showcase work not being shown at commercial galleries or in museums at that time.  From the beginning, SF Camerawork welcomed experimental photography and sought to foster a range of alternative aesthetics and techniques.  This included early support for the incorporation of conceptual, performance, and language-based practice within photography.

Throughout its over 40-year history, SF Camerawork has hosted exhibitions and events with many innovative and influential artists, including Sophie Calle, Larry Clark, Binh Danh, Lee Friedlander, Robert Heinecken, Chris McCaw, Sally Mann, Robert Mapplethorpe, Donna Lee Phillips, Sebastiao Salgado, Lew Thomas, and Carrie Mae Weems. Since 2003, SF Camerawork has also administered the Baum Award for An Emerging American Photographer, the largest national award of its kind in photography. For a full listing of SF Camerawork’s exhibition and event history, please visit the Archive page of our website.

Today, SF Camerawork is a destination for emerging artists and collectors focusing on new ideas in the photographic arts and continues to serve as a critical platform for photography, engaging the Bay Area and beyond with innovative, experimental, and challenging new work.



Heather Snider, Executive Director
Kristina Graber, Gallery Manager



Ellen Shershow, (President), Photographer & Educator
Bernadette Opine, (Vice-President and Outreach Chair), Web Developer and Software Engineer
Ken Hoffman, (Treasurer), Retired, Business Executive & Commercial Real Estate Agent
Matt Kellogg, (Secretary), Associate Corporate Counsel, Google

Michelle Branch, (Governance Chair), Attorney & Educator
Heidy Braverman, Retired, Consultant specializing in Concrete Repair and Strengthening
Amy Cole, Private Psychotherapist
Dale Cook, (Finance Chair), IT Entrepreneur
Monique Deschaines, (Programming Chair), Director, EUQINOMprojects, San Francisco
Dave Elfving, Associate Creative Director, Apple
Alexis Gordon, (Auction Chair), Individual Giving Associate, The Contemporary Jewish Museum
Adriana Grino, (Development Chair), Arts Program Assistant, Kenneth Rainin Foundation
Marcia Kadanoff, Marketing Strategy Consultant
Aimee Le Duc, Director of Exhibitions and Public Programs, Fort Mason Center for Arts & Culture
Edna Togba, Associate Director of Development, Chicago Sinfonietta
Robyn Wise, Cultural Communications and Editorial Consultant



Janet Delaney (Berkeley)
Sergio De La Torre (San Francisco)
Jeanne Friscia (San Francisco)
Việt Lê (San Francisco)
Abigail Solomon-Godeau (Paris)
Carolina Ponce De León (Bogota)
Judy Walgren (San Francisco)
Donna J. Wan (Palo Alto)



Clarissa Garay
Justin Joseph
Senny Mau
Manu Prasad
Daren You


SF Camerawork is supported in large part by grants from San Francisco Grants for the Arts/Hotel Tax Fund; The Andy Warhol Foundation for the Visual Arts; The Bernard Osher Foundation; The San Francisco Foundation; The Zellerbach Family Foundation; WYNG Masters Award; The National Endowment for the Arts; Dictionary.com; the California Arts Council; individual contributors; and SF Camerawork's Membership.